Memorable Events

St. Thomas College is honoured with the visits of many reputed personalities right from the beginning of the college.

  1. 1950: Laying the foundation stone by His Grace Dr. Mathaias S.D.B Archbishop of Madras
  2. 1953:Dr.Kailas Nath Kaitju Home Minister of Indian union at the college
  3. 1954: Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru addresses from the main building
  4. 1957: Christu Raj Hostel inaugurated by Dr. B. Rama Krishna Rao, Governor of Kerala.
  5. 1962: Inauguration of the Auditorium and the Library Building (B. Block) by Shri. V.V. Giri, Governor of Kerala
  6. 1974: St. Philip’s Hostel blessed and inaugurated by Mar Sebastian Vayalil.
  7. 1976: Mrs Indira Gandhi Inagurating the Silver Jubilee Celebrations
  8. 1991: Jimmy George Memorial Stadium inaugurated by Shri. M.M. Jacob, Minister for Home Affairs, Govt. of India.
  9. 1997: Chief Minister E.K Nayanar Inaugurates the valedictory of Golden jubilee celebrations of Indian independence.
  10. 2000: Golden Jubilee Celebrations of the College - ‘Millennium Expo’ and ‘Millennium Nites’ inaugurated by Sri. M.M. Jacob, Governor of Meghalaya.
  11. 2004: New Library building blessed by Mar Jeseph Pallickaparampil.
  12. 2006: Golden Jubilee Library inaugurated by H. E. Mar Joseph Kallarangatt
  13. 2008: Czech Ambassador Dr. Hynek Kmonicek inaugurates National Seminar on “Emerging Europe: Prospects and Challenges for Asia”.
  14. 2009: College hosts All India Interuniversity Cross Country Championship Meet.
  15. 2010: Diamond Jubilee Celebrations of the college inaugurated by Justice K.G. Balakrishnan, Chief Justice of India.

  16. 2012: International Conference on Materials Science and Technology (ICMST 2012) inaugurated by Prof. C.N.R. Rao, Chairman, Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India.

  17. 2012: 62 Foundation day celebrations inaugurated by Dr. A P J Abdul Kalam

  18. 12/08/2013 - Newly constructed Student Amenities Centre and Canteen blessed by H.E. Bishop Mar Joseph Kallaragattu in the presence of Mar Jacob Muricken, Rev. Dr. Joseph Kollamparambil, Rev. Msgr. Philip Njaralakatt and Dr. K K Jose.

  19. 12/09/2013 - Alumni Award distribution and Foundation Day celebration inaugurated by Dr. Sasi Tharoor, Union Minister for State.

  20. 15/12/2013 - Blessing of foundation stone and inauguration of construction works of Sports Complex - Mar Joseph Kallarangattu, Mar Joseph Muricken, Mar Joseph Pallickaparambil and Sri. K.M. Mani.

  21. 03/01/2014-Inauguration of ICSM 2014 and IWMA 2014 organized by Statistics Department-International Conference.