About Us

The Department of Chemistry, since 1952, the year of its starting, has shown large number of Degree and Post Graduate batches the way to victory. This department had great dignitaries like Professors P.K. Mani, A.M. Mathew, K.J. Scaria, K.I Mathai, A.V. Antony and others. This department is known through its alumni like Dr. K.L.Sebastian, Scientist, IISc; Joseph Thomas IPS, James Kurian IFS, Antony George, NTPC Kayamkulam, Capt. George Mathew, GMR Group, Rajendran A.G., Scientist ISRO, Dr. Benny K. George, VSSC, Dr. K. Sreekumar, CUSAT, Dr. K. Pius, M.G. University and others. The department has extensive laboratory facilities with sophisticated instrumentation facilities like FT IR and UV-Vis spectrophotometers and a modern computer lab. The students from the department have so far won 9 university ranks and one A+ (CBCSS) for B.Sc and 31 for M.Sc. apart from 82 selections in CSIR-UGC JRF/NET Exam. The Department of Chemistry is an approved research centre for Ph.D. and so far it has produced 11 Ph.Ds. It is a DST-FIST supported department and hosted department of Polymer Science of MG University in the initial years.