Research Scholars

2010 – 11

Ph.D. Awardees from Our Research Departments
The following research scholars were awarded Ph.D. degree by Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam during 2010 - 2011.

Ph.D. Awardee

Subject Title of Thesis Guide
Dr. Uma P. Statistics Ramifications of Alpha Laplace Distribution and Applications Dr. K.K. Jose
Dr. Ancy Joseph Statistics A Study on Marshall-Olkin Distribution and Minification Processes Dr. K.K. Jose
Dr. Shibumon George Biochemistry Medicinal Properties of Common Fruits Dr. P.J. Benny
Dr. Soosy Joseph Hindi Dalit Sahithya:Ek Sarvekshan- Hindi Katha Sahithya ke Vishesh Sandarbh mem Dr. V.V. Georgekutty Vattoth
Dr. Rajeemol C.R. Hindi Viveki Rai ke Upanyasom mem Anchalikatha Dr. K.M. Mathew
Dr. Sujarani Mathew English Imaging African Womanhood: A Womanist Reading of Selected Works of Buchi Emecheta Dr. Mathew Joseph
Rev. Dr. Tomy Joseph Politics The Political Empowerment of the Dalits in Kerala: A Study on the Role of Dalit Movements in Kottayam District Dr. M.M. Mathew

2009 – 10

Ph.D. Awardees from Our Research Departments The following research scholars of the College were awarded Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam.
I. Dr. Sherely Annie Paul
(Lecturer in Chemistry Bishop Moore College, Mavelikkara)
Subject: Chemistry
Title of Ph. D Thesis “Banana Fiber Reinforced Polypropylene Commingled Composites”
Guide Dr. G.D.Gem Mathew (Dept of Chemistry)
2. Dr. Aneyamma Varghese
(Lecturer in Chemistry Henry Baker College, Melukavu)
Subject: Chemistry
Title of Ph.D. Thesis: ‘Biogeochemical Characteristics of Meenachil River System’
Guide: Dr. Sunny Kuriakose (Dept. of Chemistry)
3. Dr. Shanoja R. Naik
Subject: Statistics
Title of Ph.D. Thesis: ‘Pathway Distributions, Autoregressive Processes and their Applications’
Guide: Dr. K.K. Jose (Principal)
4. Dr. Lishamol Tomy
(Lecturer in Statistics, Deva Matha College, Kuravilangad)
Subject: Statistics
Title of Ph. D Thesis: ‘Time Series Models with Convolutions of Gaussian and Non-Gaussian Marginal Distributions’
Guide: Dr. K.K. Jose (Principal)
5. Dr. Jayamol K.V.
(Lecturer in Statistics, Maharajas College, Eranakulam)
Subject: Statistics
Title of Ph.D. Thesis: ‘On Some Lifetime Distributions in Statistical Reliability Modelling and Their Applications’
Guide Dr. K, K. Jose (Principal)
6. Dr. Abdui Jabbar M.
(Lecturer in Hindi, Farook College, Calicut)
Subject: Hindi
Title of Ph.D. Thesis: ‘Sree Chandradhar Sharma Guleri Ka Sahithya – Ek Vishleshnatmak Adhyayan’
Guide: Dr. N.K. Joseph (Dept. of Hindi)
7. Dr. Santy Joseph
(Lecturer in Hindi, St. Aloysius College, Edathua)
Subject: Hindi
Title of Ph.D. Thesis: ‘Women Identity Depicted in the Post-Seventy Hindi Fiction’
Guide: Dr. Georgekutty Vattoth (Dept. of Hindi)
8. Dr. Sheela P.V.
(Lecturer in Hindi, St. Peter’s College, Kolencherry)
Subject: Hindi
Title of Ph.D Thesis: ‘Comparative study of Marxism in the novels of Yashpal and M. Sukumaran’
Guide: Dr. K.M. Mathew (HOD of Hindi)

Ph.D. Awardee Subject Guide
9. Dr. Mathews M. George Mathematics Dr. M.S. Samuel
10. Dr. Rejikumar D Malayalam Dr.Babu Sebastian
11. Dr. Tomy Jose C Commerce Dr. Tharsis Joseph
12. Dr. Deepu Jose Sebastian Commerce Dr. Tharsis Joseph
13. Dr. Kuriachan George Commerce Dr. Tharsis Joseph
14. Dr. Dominic K.V English Dr. George Justin K.
15. Dr. Sindhu E.S Statistics Dr. K.K. Jose (Co-Guide)

2008 – 09

Ph.D. Awardee from Our Research Departments
The following research scholars of the college were awarded Ph.D. by Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam

  1. Dr. James Kurian (Lecturer in Statistics, Maharaja’s College, Ernakulam)
    Subject:     Statistics
    Title of Ph.D Thesis: Some inferential Problems Related to non-normal symmetric distribution with kurtosis Three
    Guide: Dr. Sebastian George (Dept. of Statistics)
  2. Dr. Sarala Gopalakrishnan
    Lecturer in Microbiology. Plus X College, Rajapuram
    Subject: Bio-Chemistry
    Title of Ph.D Thesis: studies of certain Antimicrobial Principles from Plants
    Guide: Dr. P.J. Benny
    (Dept. of Zoology)

2007 – 08

Best Paper Award
Ms. Shanoja S. Naik, Research Scholar in the Department of Statistics, won the Best Paper Award in the International Conference of the Society for special Functions and their Applications held in May 2007.
Ms. Lishamol Tomy receives International Award
Ms. Lishamol Tomy, research scholar in the Department of Statistics, was presented with the prestigious Jan Tinbergen Award 2007, awarded to young researchers by the International Statistical Institute (ISI), the Netherlands, once in two years. Ms. Lishamol carried out her award-winning work under the guidance of Dr. K. K. Jose, Head of the Department. The award was presented to her by the President of the ISI at the General Assembly of the ISI at its 56th session held in August 2007 at Lisbon, Portugal. The Award carries a cash prize of 2300 euros in addition to a citation and memento.

Ph.D. Awardees from Our Research Departments
The following research scholars of the College were awarded Ph.D. by M.G. University, Kottayam.
  1. Dr. J. Sreekumar, (Scientist-Senior Grade Statistician, CTCRI, Trivandrum) Title of Ph.D. Thesis- ‘Statistical Modelling and Analysis of Microarray Gene Expression Data’ Guide : Dr. K. K. Jose (HOD of Statistics)
  2. Rev. Dr. O.C. Joseph (Principal, K.E. College, Mannanam) Title of Ph.D. Thesis – ‘ Some Problems in Block Designs and Optimality Criteria’ Guide: Dr. Alex Thannippara (Dept. of Statistics)
  3. Dr. P. Augustine Mathew (Lecturer in English, Devamatha College, Kuravilangad) Title of Ph.D. Thesis – ‘ The Spice of Hope in the Salad of Despair: Vision of Life in Thomas Pynchon’s Novels’ Guide: Dr. Mathew Joseph (Dept. of English)
  4. Dr. K.T. Babu Title of Ph.D. Thesis –‘Aesthetics and Politics of Language in Adrienne Rich’  Guides : Dr. Augustine Joseph & Dr. Mathew Joseph (Dept. of English)

Ms. Lishamol Tomy wins Jan Tinbergan Award(40)
Ms. Shanoja S. Naik pg 26