Com Arena 2009

 The Department of Commerce organised a mega inter-collegiate competition Com Arena 2009 for commerce and Management students on 1 December 2009. it was formally inaugurated by Very Rev. Msgr. Eanas Ottathengumkal, Manager of the College, at a meeting presided over by Dr, K. K. Jose, Principal. More than 150 students from 15 colleges of MG University participated in the competitions. Product Launching Business Quiz, Solo and Best Manager were the competition events. Cash Awards amounting to Ts. 35, 000/- and certificates were distributed to the winners by Adv. Joy Nadukkara., Ex. M.P., President, Meenachil Rubber Marketing & Processing Co-operative Society Ltd.


 A seminar on “Intellectual Property Rights” was conducted on 11 March 2011. It was led by Adv. Benoy K. Kadavan, IPR consultant. The seminar was inaugurated by Dr. K. K. Jose, Principal, and discussions were held on copyrights, patents, trademarks and other rights. The Forum also organized a seminar on “Emerging Trends in Internal Business” on 16 March 2011. Prof. Tojo Jose, Govt. College, Manimalakunnu, was the key speaker. On 17 March 2011, a seminar on “The Role of Trade Unions in Banks and Global Financial Crisis” was presented by Mr. P.V. Mathew, Manager (Administration), Cooperate Planning Department, The Federal Bank Ltd.

Alumni- Academia Interactive Programme

 It is an innovative programme launched with a view to provide a platform for the Commerce alumni to share their experience and expertise with the present students and teachers in the Department. Under this scheme two seminars were organized this year. A seminar on “Control-Based Audit” was conducted by Mr. Georgekutty Kolady CA on 17 June 2010 and a seminar on “Global Banking: Issues and Challenges” was conducted by Mr. P. A. Sebastian on 18 June 2010.

Business Quiz Competition

 The Forum initiated the bulk subscription of business dailies for the benefit of students. This year, the Forum subscribed to 150 copies of Business Line. Based on this, the Forum organized quiz competitions as a novel venture. Three quizzes were conducted during the academic year. Prof. Tejil Thomas was the quiz master and about 20 teams participated in each quiz. Prizes were awarded to the winners.

St. Thomas College Commerce Alumni Association (STCCAA)

 St. Thomas College Commerce Alumni Association was inaugurated by Mr. K.J. Mathew IAS, former Chief Secretary of Kerala and the present Chairman of State Electricity Regulatory Commission, during the Mega Alumni Meet held on 18 July 2010. The Manager of the College, Very Rev. Msgr. O.P. Eanas Ottathengumkal, presided over the meeting. Former teachers of the Department, Prof. P.A. Mathew, Rev. Fr. C.M. Mathew Chandrankunnel, Prof. P.C. Abraham, Prof. M.M. Abraham, Prof. John Zacharias, and distinguished alumni Mr. Tom Jose IAS (Principal Secretary, PWD of Kerala), Mr. M.M. Jacob (Secretary, Co-operative Department of Kerala), Mr. T.J. Jacob (IG, CRPF), Mr. K.V. Mathew (Secretary, Backward Classes Development Corporation), Mr. Babu Abraham Kallivayalil CA, Mr. Jose Mamparambil, Mr. Jyothis Mohan IRS, and Sri. Jiji Mathothu were honoured in the meeting. The Manager issued the first membership of St. Thomas College Commerce Alumni Association to the first student of the Department, Prof. P.A. Mathew.

Intercollegiate Seminar and Research Paper Presentation

 Prof. K. Philip John Memorial Academic Foundation instituted by the Commerce Alumni Association in honour of late Prof. K. Philip John, former HOD of Commerce, organized an Intercollegiate Seminar and Research Paper Presentation contest for M.Com students of Mahatma Gandhi University on 4 and 5 March 2010. More than 130 M.Com. students participated in the programme. H.E. Mar Joseph Pallikaparampil, Bishop Emeritus of Palai inaugurated the seminar and Dr. K.K. Jose, Principal presided over the function. The chief guest of the valedictory meeting was Very Rev. Msgr. OP Eanas Ottathengumkal, Manager. Cash awards and certificates were distributed to the winners.

Prof. John Zacharias Endowment Scholarship
I : Ms. Neethu Jose - Rs.1000/-
II : Ms. Gayathri S. Nair - Rs. 750/-
III : Ms. Tintu Joseph - Rs. 500/-
I : Mr. Tony John - Rs. 1000/-
II : Mr. Rohit Chandran - Rs. 500/-