About Us

Started in the year 1953 the department of Botany holds laurels for meritoriously producing many Degree and Post Graduate batches. The pioneers of this department include Prof. P.M Chacko, Dr. C.V. Krishna Iyengar, K.V. Varghese, N.J. Abraham, P.J.Joseph, T.M. Thomas Thelly, Mathew M. Sebastian, Sr. V.C. Annakkutty, Fr. James Vellankal, M.C. Mani, K.P. Sebastian, T.U Thomas and Rev. Dr. M.M.Mathew. Great alumni like K.S.Sebastian, K.C. Sebastian, M.N. Gopinath, Noyal Thomas IFS, Dr. Jose C. Periyapuram and Fr. Joseph K.M have brought glory to the department by glittering in their careers. The department became a research department in 2002 and has 5 research guides. It is a DST-FIST and KSCSTE SARD sponsored department.