Department Of Politics

Hid away amid the heady verdure of a luscious and leafy campus on the margin of the river Meenachil resonant with the buzz of busy bees and balmy breeze and redolent of all the primordial inscapes of the world rendering it an ideal idyllic academic ambience nestles the Research & PG Department of Political Science. The Department of Political Science offers Degree, PG and Doctorate leading to PhD in Political Science and also Add-on Course in Communication Skills in Research. A whole host of UGC and MHRD funded research projects and seminars and a centre of Indo-US Nehru-Fulbright exchange programme, there is no gainsaying the exceptionalism and sui genris position of the department.

The launch of the department in 1955 under the leadership of Rev. Dr. N.M. Thomas was indeed the fruition of a long cherished dream. Under the stewardship of Prof. M. T. Thariyan, it gained national renown. Later, the Department was headed by Prof. N.C Mathewkutty, Prof. Dr. Cyriac Thomas, Prof. V.J Joseph, Prof. Pylokutty George, Prof. Danty Joseph, Prof. Mathew Sebastian, Dr. K. K. Jose Dr. Shajimon K Mathews and Dr. Stany Thomas. Now the department functions under Dr. Sijo K. Manuel

Professors like Prof. Nambeesan, Dr. O Varkey, Dr. Jose Chander, Dr. C.A Perumal, Shri. Kochunnipanicker, Shri.K.V. Joseph, Rev.Fr.Joseph Kinattukara, Dr. John Joseph, Rev. Fr. K.C Joseph, Prof. M. Mohan, Dr. V.V Varghese, Rev. Dr. V.M Mathew, Prof. Mathew Sebastian (Sr.), Dr. N. C. Jacob, Shri. Thomaskutty Abraham and Dr. George Varghese.

During the last six and a half decades, the Department has produced men and women of excellence in every field, who are serving as administrators, vice chancellors, educationalists, diplomats, politicians, teachers, social scientists, social activists, bureaucrats, businessmen, agriculturalists etc… This department is proud of its alumni like Dr. Cyriac Thomas (Vice Chancellor and Pro Vice Chancellor of Mahatma Gandhi University, University of Kerala and Cochin University of Science and Technology), Prof. V.J. Joseph (Former MLA of Poonjar Constituency), Dr. John Joseph (Acting Secretary General, Lok Sabha) P.P. Gopi I.A.S., Siby George I.F.S. Appu Joseph I.R.S. and Dr. Stany Thomas (Member, Kerala PSC)

The Department has set an unbeatable record in securing top ranks for degree and postgraduate courses at the university level. Several students have got the UGC JRF/NET and other fellowships. The Department has already produced 32 PhD dissertations in different areas of political science since 1986. It has become the epicenter of knowledge through a series of refresher courses, National and International seminars, model parliaments, studies on psephology, discussions and debates on contemporary topics and quiz programmes.

Department Of Political Science